The Naugatuck Police Department is a fully accredited law enforcement agency under the Police Officers Standards and Training Council.

State accreditation is a process through which law enforcement agencies demonstrate excellence in management and service delivery by complying with state accreditation standards. This is a no-cost, voluntary, self-directed process accessible to all Connecticut departments regardless of size or resources. 

The Connecticut Law Enforcement Accreditation Program consists of 327 standards achievable in three successive tiers: 

(1) Liability Certification (124 standards); 
(2) Professional Certification (83 standards); and 
(3) General Management (120 standards). 

The State Accreditation program is designed to assist Connecticut law enforcement agencies to operate efficiently and uniformly to reduce exposure to civil liability and provide excellent management and service delivery. The POST Council has established and maintains accreditation standards for law enforcement agencies that consider all administrative, management, and service delivery aspects of the organization. The standards, in striving to promote the best professional practices, prescribe "what" agencies should be doing, but not "how" they should be doing it.

Specifically, the selected standards allow agencies to meet the following goals: 

(1) Strengthen crime prevention and control capabilities; 
(2) Formalize essential management procedures; 
(3) Establish fair and nondiscriminatory personnel practices; 
(4) Improve service delivery; 
(5) Solidify interagency cooperation and coordination; and 
(6) Boost citizen and staff confidence in the police agency.